Pride in our past. History



  • Tarapata MacMahon Associates is founded by Peter Tarapata and Chuck MacMahon. The firm includes 12 professionals and the first office is located on Woodward and Long Lake in Bloomfield Hills, Michigan. Educational architecture is the firm’s specialty, and its first school design award was from the American Association of School Administrators for Groves High School, Birmingham Public Schools.


  • Firm renovates and expands the Tuscarora School building at Square Lake and Telegraph Roads in Bloomfield Hills, Michigan where it remains headquartered today.
  • A major design commission is the National AIA Design Award winning Central Plaza in Canton, Ohio.
  • Principals included Peter Tarapata, Chuck MacMahon, Bill Hayes, Mark Jaroszewicz, Dick Albyn, and Maury Allen.
  • Chuck MacMahon elected to AIA College of Fellows.
  • Firm merges with Glen Paulsen and Associates, and is now known as Tarapata MacMahon Paulsen Associates, Inc. or TMP Associates, Inc. Practice diversifies with an even stronger higher education focus following the merger.


  • The practice diversifies to include corporate and governmental markets.
  • Peter Tarapata, FAIA is Chair of National AIA Committee on Architecture for Education.
  • Thomas Lucas becomes President of the firm in 1975.
  • With school market in recession, firm refocuses marketing efforts and takes on many corporate and governmental clients.


  • Performing Arts becomes a strong market for the firm. Diversification in other market segments includes college remodeling, healthcare and governmental work.
  • John Castellana is promoted to Senior Vice President in 1982.
  • Kent Johnson becomes President of the firm in 1986.
  • Tim Casai is promoted to Senior Vice President in 1987.
  • Firm’s first AutoCAD (computer-aided design) project!
  • Firm begins successful school design work in Tucson, Arizona with major commissions.
  • School market in Michigan rebounds and TMP is awarded large bond issue projects.
  • Firm celebrates 25 years in 1984!
  • TMP inaugurates Annual Golf Outing.


  • Firm earns AIA Michigan Firm of the Year Award in 1999.
  • Firm continues steady growth with many new commissions focusing on schools, recreation, performing arts and healthcare.
  • Dave Larson & Steve Smith are promoted to Senior Vice President in 1992.
  • TMP forms alliances with Ballinger of Philadelphia and The Collaborative, Inc. of Toledo.
  • John Castellana & Tim Casai are elected to the AIA College of Fellows.
  • TMP expands its Bloomfield Hills operations into an adjacent property at 2709 South Telegraph.


  • The firm officially changes name to TMP Architecture, Inc. and launches the original website!
  • John Castellana becomes TMP’s President in 2003, is awarded the AIA Detroit Gold Medal, and is designated as a Registered Educational Facility Planner from the Council of Educational Facility Planners International.
  • Steve Smith becomes Director of Operations in 2004.
  • Gail Allevato is promoted to Senior Vice President in 2005.
  • Tim Casai is awarded AIA Detroit Gold Medal & becomes President of the firm in 2008.
  • TMP merges with Marshburn/Bunkley Associates of Portage and Jickling Lyman Powell Associates of Troy.
  • Firm joins forces with Breckenridge Group as an architecture/engineering joint venture for projects in the Tucson, Arizona area.
  • Whitmore Lake High School becomes TMP’s first LEED Certified project, earning a Silver rating.
  • TMP University is established, offering classes, promoting training and professional growth throughout the firm.
  • TMP celebrates 50 years in 2009!


  • First LEED Silver Certified college/university project: Crystal M. Lange Health & Human Services Building, Saginaw Valley State University
  • Groundbreaking for University of Michigan Basketball Player Development Center and Crisler Center Expansion and Renovation
  • AIA Michigan awards Tim Casai Gold Medal in 2011.
  • First LEED Gold Certified project: Jenks Math & Science Center, Jenks, Oklahoma in 2012
  • TMP collaborates with Baskervill, a Virginia firm, to renovate and restore campus recreation and athletic projects for the Virginia Military Institute.
  • University of Michigan Crisler Center expansion & renovation achieves LEED Gold Certification.
  • Eduardo Blanc assumes leadership of Portage office in 2015.
  • University of Michigan Taubman Health Sciences Library renovation earns LEED Gold Certification in 2016.
  • AIA Michigan awards John Castellana Gold Medal in 2016.
  • American Institute of Architects College of Fellow Executive Committee elects John Castellana Secretary in 2017.
  • Gail Allevato becomes President of the firm in 2018.
  • Eduardo Blanc joins the firm’s Board of Directors in 2018.
  • Steven Smith wins the AIA Michigan Robert F. Hastings Award in 2018.
  • Nandita Mishra receives ALEP Certification.
  • Perrysburg Schools, New Hull Prairie Intermediate School wins four educational and architectural design awards.
  • AIA Michigan names Danielle O’Neal Young Architect of year in 2019.




  • TMP moves to virtual work environments.
  • Association for Learning Environments appoints Eduardo Blanc President of Midwest Great Lakes Region.
  • Groundbreaking for the new Walled Lake Early Childhood Center
  • AIA College of Fellows elects John Castellana Chancellor.
  • Dexter Early Elementary Complex receives Outstanding Project in Learning by Design’s Architectural Portfolio and a Bronze Citation from AS&U Interiors.
  • Detroit Country Day receives Outstanding Project in Learning by Design’s Architectural Portfolio.
  • Troy Preschool receives Outstanding Project in Learning by Design’s Architectural Portfolio.
  • Rossford Junior High receives Outstanding Project in Learning by Design’s Architectural Portfolio.


  • TMP hosts MSBO and NIRSA conference virtually.
  • Grand Rapids Public Schools Southwest Middle/High School earns LEED Silver Certification.
  • AIA awards Steve Smith Gold Medal Award.
  • Detroit Country Day Lower School receives Outstanding Project in Learning by Design’s Architectural Portfolio.
  • Port Huron Northern High School receives Outstanding Project in Learning by Design’s Architectural Portfolio.
  • Cascades Elementary School celebrates opening.